Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Prof. Pieter Evenepoel


Pieter Evenepoel is Associate Professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Adjunct Head of Nephrology and Head of Dialysis at the University Hospital (UZ), Catholic University of Leuven (KU), Leuven, Belgium. Professor Evenepoel’s main research interests include the characterisation of uraemic retention solutes; development and implementation of extracorporeal renal replacement therapies; pharmacokinetics of protein-bound uraemic retention solutes and chronic kidney disease-mineral and bone disorder (CKD-MBD). He is currently a member and Fellow of the European Renal Association – European Dialysis and Transplant Association (ERA–EDTA), where he was a board member of the CKD-MBD Working Group from 2014 to 2017 and member of the Scientific Advisory Board from 2016 to 2020. Professor Evenepoel is also a member of the American Society of Nephrology, the Belgian Society of Nephrology, the Dutch speaking-Belgian Society of Nephrology, and the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO) CKD-MBD Working Group. He is currently Chair of the European Renal Osteodystrophy (EUROD), an initiative of the ERA–EDTA CKD-MBD Working Group, as well as Vice-chair of the European Uremic Toxin (EUTox) Working Group. A theme editor for CKD for Nephrology Dialysis Transplantation and a member of the editorial board of Kidney International, he is also currently an ad-hoc reviewer for several journals, including the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology, The Lancet, and the European Heart Journal. Professor Evenepoel has contributed to over 250 publications in peer-reviewed journals and has authored chapters in books such as Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology and Primer on Kidney Diseases.

Herestraat 49
3000 Leuven

Ass.Prof Hanne Skou Jørgensen

SC Member

Dep. of Renal Medicine
8200 Aarhus

Dipl.-Ing. Christoph Müller Philipps Sohn

Altenhofer Weg 8
96450 Coburg

Prof. Marie-Hélène Lafage-Proust

SC Member

42023-42055 Saint-Etienne

Prof. Justine Bacchetta

SC Member

Prof. Anibal Ferreira

SC Member

Campus de Campolide
1099-085 Lisboa

MD, PhD Mathias Haarhaus


Division of Renal Medicine
17176 Stockholm

MD Maria Jesus Lloret

Young Investigator

Fundació Puigvert. C/Cartagena, 340-350
08025 Barcelona

Ass.Prof Maria Fusaro

CKD-MBD WG Board Member

Via Giustiniani, 2
35128 Padova

Ass.Prof Nathalie Bravenboer

SC Member

Location Vrije Universiteit
1007 MB Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Contact Details